Time Travel And MVC

  Yes, yes we’ve seen this meme before. But it’s very relevant to my time of late.

Sometimes to try new things, one has to ignore the rest of the world for a bit. This creates a kind of time travel experience all by itself. It’s the kind where you look up and say, “It’s been six months?!?!?” I feel that way right now. I can’t believe my last post here was that long ago.

Similar to Olympic training but far less sweaty, I’ve been focused deep in my secret lab for the past few months working on a system that pays homage to the ideas and theories that get knocked about in our FileMaker what-if discussions. What I’ll be writing about in the next few installments is the portable model-view-controller backend I’ve developed in FileMaker Pro 12. Not only is it MVC, but it also has the ability to create and maintain a raw data repository off to the side, for those needing entity-attribute-value records as well.

This project has been brewing in my head for a long time, and I’m happy to have kicked it off. But suffice it to say it’s going to take some effort to get the methodology posted for others to play with and review. It’s been hard enough to get this thing rolling, and the idea of having to refine it before presenting it to the FileMaker community is exhausting. So I’m inviting you into the middle of open heart surgery. Expect it to be messy!

I’ve posted a very preliminary explanation of what I’m doing in this pdf: MVC-EAV In FileMaker. There are some hopeful declarations in it that I wish to be true, but I’m just now testing. Time will tell.

I must give credit where it is due. All I’m doing is trying to implement what I have learned from Ernest Koe, Corn Walker, John Sindelar, Matt Petrowsky, Agnes Riley, and many, many others. What I’m doing isn’t so much new as it is a “follower feedback” moment: “Hey, guys! I heard you say such-and-so. Is that what you were trying to say?”

I do think, though, that if I’ve done my homework, we might end up with a nice set of tools to play with and point at and fix and tweak, leading to some really great techniques for our community.

I will do my best to update this regularly. Please understand that I’m both a developer and the Executive Director of my local Chamber Of Commerce, so time is tight. But I’m determined that it’s time to start talking about this. I’m forcing myself onto the stage before I’m completely done in an effort to create some momentum (a.k.a self-discipline) to document this as fully and as quickly as possible.

Your encouragement and happy thoughts in my general direction are appreciated!

More to come…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

